Study leave

On Friday I had my last ever day at school and embarked on study leave.

It’s a bit scary, to think that I’ll only ever go back to school for exams now. I’m one step closer to the big scary world.

Luckily, I can hide myself from that world for seven weeks revising and sitting my dreaded A levels.

I afforded myself a day and a half’s ‘holiday’ before I started working, to go to the pub with my friends and to catch up on some of the things I’ve been too busy to do recently (mainly to catch up on my TV watching).

And from 8.30 this morning I’ve been working hard.

I’m one of those lucky (or sensible) people who can decide to work, work and have sensible breaks. I don’t procrastinate once I’ve started and if I start to daydream or slow down I know it’s time for a break. I can’t say that I have a particularly amazing memory or skill at learning though, which is probably why I’ve always made myself work this hard. In fact, I’ve had problems in the past with working myself too hard and not giving myself the breaks I need. I barely gave myself a break when I was working for my GCSEs, and ended up having terrible headaches all the time.

I’ve always had a problem with headaches, and I’m finally starting to listen to myself properly and try really hard to not let them start.

So this study leave I’m going to do it right. Work hard, do well, but not burn out.